Why the frown, Charlie Brown?

About 2 1/2 months ago I was having a terrible day.   My husband and I had not really gotten our groove going, and we were both stressed.  The past week had been so slow at the restaurant that I was expecting tumbleweeds to start drifting around in here.

My morning started with us fighting, and it was a bad one.  Then my mother called with a bunch of things she needed done now– which I had no idea where I would find the time to do.  And my husband coldly handed me a HUGE list of things we had to get from the stores.  And very little money came with that list.

So I started out the door.  I was in a foul mood.  I was discouraged.  I was upset.  I was angry.

I rushed through all my shopping, not looking at people and certainly not smiling.  As I was standing in a super long line I was lost in my own world of everything-is-wrong-I-can’t-take-it-anymore.

And then someone roughly grabbed my by arm from behind and I heard:

“Why the frown, Charlie Brown?”

I turned, still scowling and saw a high functioning Downs Syndrome man standing behind me with his family.   I gruffly answered that I was having a bad day.   I started to turn back around.  He was not having it.  Again I was roughly grabbed and told:

“You must not have a cousin, then.”

I assured him I had many, but did not turn around because I knew he would just grab me again until he was done talking to me.  His family smiled at me.

“Well, I have a cousin (pointing to the man next to him) and when my mom died last year my brother did not want me so my cousin said I could live with him.”

The cousin looked really concerned and leaned in and said to him “It’s not that he didn’t want you, he just got married, remember?  He has a lot going on.  He loves you very much.”

And I started to really look at them.  To see the love that was in this family. The cousin was there with his wife, his 2 year old, and an infant.  It must have been quite stressful to have a new family member live with them in this hard economic time, and with a budding family.  Yet they were smiling and happy.

And my anger at the world subsided, and my realization that there are people so giving, so loving, so compassionate shamed me.

But I smiled at my new friend, and told him that indeed he has a wonderful cousin.   And that he was wonderful too.

His beaming smile was awesome.  I turned around again, very aware of the family behind me, laughing and talking.   And again, I was shamed at my attitude.  People give so freely of themselves, and my selfishness and self absorption was horrid.

One can never give enough, love enough, laugh enough.  One can never be too busy to smile, and too upset to see the beauty in life and people.  One can always learn from the beauty of others, and the willingness to open their hearts and homes.  One can always be kind.

This week, our air conditioning broke.  So did the ice machine.  Ned is crabby, stress was high.

This morning I was scowling – until I thought I heard:

“Why the frown, Charlie brown?”

And the memory of that day put a smile on my face, and a song in my heart.  And I realized, I own a restaurant, I am on and adventure.   Despite our ups and downs and stress, I am married to a man I adore.  It is spring outside and in my heart.

May you always smile, and be inspired as I have been.

Peace,

Barbie

2 Comments

  1. Barbie said,

    May 13, 2011 at 5:06 pm

    Thanks , I don’t normally cry

  2. Barbie said,

    May 13, 2011 at 5:07 pm

    That comment is from Ned


Leave a Reply

